The  Mead Educational Trust, a Multi Academy Trust based in Leicester, comprises of secondary and primary academies joining together in a exciting partnership that is committed to providing its pupils with a world class educational experience.

As a Multi-Academy Trust, our academies are joined together as a single legal entity; The Mead Educational Trust. The Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee and has two layers of governance, the members and the Board of Trustees. Further details of the Trust’s governance structure can be found below.


The members of The Mead Educational Trust, akin to shareholders, are subscribers to the Trust’s memorandum of association. Members ensure that the Trust’s activities are properly directed to achieving its objectives and are responsible for appointing the Board of Directors.

Board of Trustees

The trustees of The Mead Educational Trust are responsible for conducting the affairs of the Trust to achieve the its objectives, shaping the success of the Trust.

The Board of Trustees delegate authority to central committees and to a local governing body for each academy within the Trust.

Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit Committee provides assurance over the sustainability of, and compliance with, the Trust’s financial systems and operational controls. The Committee’s role is to maintain an oversight of the Trust’s financial governance, risk management, internal control and value for money framework.

Executive Team

The Executive Team is the executive management arm of the Academy Trust, focusing on operations and the educational performance of the Academies.  The Executive Team work directly with the Academy Improvement Forum, staff in each Academy and the Local Governing Bodies to ensure that the required outcomes are achieved in accordance with the direction and vision of the Trust Board.

Local Governing Body

Each academy has its own local governing body who ensure that the academy meets its educational vision and targets. The extent of their powers is determined by the Scheme of Delegation and Constitution and Terms of Reference and varies from academy to academy.